Opinion

This queer horror short film isn’t afraid to explore hard topics (6/14/2022) - What makes this horror short so captivating is not only its performances but its outright queerness.
Is The L Word’s Jenny the ultimate queer villain? (5/12/2022) - Jenny Schecter is a queer villain who isn't the result of lazy homophobic writing.
Killing Eve and a trope that should be buried (4/20/2022) - The series finale is the opposite of a love letter to queer fans.
Best friends and young love: Queer shipping in anime (4/13/2022) - "Where queer relationships in media are concerned, we often grab hold of what we can."
Zimbabwe tabloid stokes anti-LGBTIQA+ hate and discrimination (4/12/2022) - A "bad taste" story might set back the rights of LGBTIQA+ people in the country.
It’s time to stop tolerating stigma – our lives depend on it (3/20/2022) - Hate is killing too many LGBTIQA+ people.
Euphoria, queer women, and tragedy in sapphic relationships (3/20/2022) - Sapphic relationships in media too often end tragically.
What queer fans really want from Killing Eve’s final season (3/11/2022) - Spy thrillers are moving away from the cringy past of the genre.
‘You are not welcome’: The message a Christian college is giving queer students (1/31/2022) - When you tell queer children that they are immoral, we risk losing them.
Looking for a hero: Acceptance and being a queer Muslim  (1/30/2022) - I worried that religion would be used to justify hate against my community.
‘Unapologetically queer’: Seeing ourselves in the media we love (1/14/2022) - There's power in representing yourself, even in fiction. Vanessa Maki discusses Yellowjackets.
From cults to vampires: The year’s best queer horror (12/21/2021) - A roundup of some of the best creepy film and television that 2021 gave us.
Stone Ocean: JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure has its first female hero (12/14/2021) - The newest instalment of the anime hit gives viewers a new female lead and queer cast members.
Worlds AIDS Day: Battling a pandemic on the frontline (11/30/2021) - “I could see history repeating in the fear and stigma.”
The battle is far from over: Reflections on World AIDS Day (11/29/2021) - This year’s WAD theme focuses on ending inequalities and pandemics.
How JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure influenced my queer journey (11/27/2021) - An anime series has played an unlikely role in how I experience gender.
A trans woman in intensive care: ‘It’ did not have fun (11/19/2021) - Being in the hospital is stressful enough without transphobia.
Because you’re family: Trans Parent Day (11/7/2021) - I never really thought I would be a parent, but now it’s one of the best parts of my life.
Creepy and camp new LGBTQ films and shows for Halloween (10/29/2021) - Check out this fresh new spooky season entertainment.
Queer characters surviving horror films shouldn’t be radical  (10/18/2021) - A new Netflix film does something that’s uncommon in horror: queer characters survive to the end. 
The Rocky Horror Picture Show and the punishment of male femininity  (9/27/2021) - Even in gay culture, a queer man presenting as femme is still not so accepted.
First Nations Fashion at the Brisbane Festival: review (9/20/2021) - The ancestors would have been proud of the talent on display.
queer teen film the miseducation of cameron post Do we finally have enough queer teen drama films? (9/16/2021) - Vanessa Maki reflects on how far LGBTQ representation has come and reviews five films that hold their own.
Internalised homophobia is a killer: Knife+Heart (8/31/2021) - This French horror film is a rollercoaster of queer tragedy.
‘Terrified and disturbed’: Kenyan police accused of homophobic abuse (8/18/2021) - Gay people say they can’t safely go to the police for help.
hospital icu coronavirus pandemic health The mental health costs of the coronavirus pandemic (8/15/2021) - The pandemic is far from over, and queer people are doing it especially hard.
nairobi kenya ugandan refugees ‘A death ticket’: Persecuted gay Ugandans seek refuge in Kenya (8/3/2021) - “When authorities establish that we are here, they always deport us.”
Dysfunctional queer relationships in all their glory: American Horror Stories (7/31/2021) - Wanting to see queer people as chaotic, justified villains or antagonists isn’t strange.
The trilogy ends with something special: Fear Street is Queer Street (7/21/2021) - Fear Street Part Three: 1666 depicts the embodiment of queer rage and a refreshingly different ending.
supernatural tv Supernatural’s queer tragedy: Dean Winchester and Castiel (7/14/2021) - Squandering the queer potential of a popular show is shameful.