Opinion

The battle is far from over: Reflections on World AIDS Day (11/29/2021) - This year’s WAD theme focuses on ending inequalities and pandemics.
How JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure influenced my queer journey (11/27/2021) - An anime series has played an unlikely role in how I experience gender.
A trans woman in intensive care: ‘It’ did not have fun (11/19/2021) - Being in the hospital is stressful enough without transphobia.
trans parent parents day kids family Because you’re family: Trans Parent Day (11/7/2021) - I never really thought I would be a parent, but now it’s one of the best parts of my life.
chucky television series camp horror review Creepy and camp new LGBTQ films and shows for Halloween (10/29/2021) - Check out this fresh new spooky season entertainment.
there's someone inside your house film netflix queer characters Queer characters surviving horror films shouldn’t be radical  (10/18/2021) - A new Netflix film does something that’s uncommon in horror: queer characters survive to the end. 
rocky horror The Rocky Horror Picture Show and the punishment of male femininity  (9/27/2021) - Even in gay culture, a queer man presenting as femme is still not so accepted.
First Nations Fashion at the Brisbane Festival: review (9/20/2021) - The ancestors would have been proud of the talent on display.
queer teen film the miseducation of cameron post Do we finally have enough queer teen drama films? (9/16/2021) - Vanessa Maki reflects on how far LGBTQ representation has come and reviews five films that hold their own.
knife+heart film horror Internalised homophobia is a killer: Knife+Heart (8/31/2021) - This French horror film is a rollercoaster of queer tragedy.
‘Terrified and disturbed’: Kenyan police accused of homophobic abuse (8/18/2021) - Gay people say they can’t safely go to the police for help.
hospital icu coronavirus pandemic health The mental health costs of the coronavirus pandemic (8/15/2021) - The pandemic is far from over, and queer people are doing it especially hard.
nairobi kenya ugandan refugees ‘A death ticket’: Persecuted gay Ugandans seek refuge in Kenya (8/3/2021) - “When authorities establish that we are here, they always deport us.”
american horror stories tv Dysfunctional queer relationships in all their glory: American Horror Stories (7/31/2021) - Wanting to see queer people as chaotic, justified villains or antagonists isn’t strange.
fear street tv netflix The trilogy ends with something special: Fear Street is Queer Street (7/21/2021) - Fear Street Part Three: 1666 depicts the embodiment of queer rage and a refreshingly different ending.
supernatural tv Supernatural’s queer tragedy: Dean Winchester and Castiel (7/14/2021) - Squandering the queer potential of a popular show is shameful.
black man hands compuer social media Social media providing safe spaces for oppressed Kenyan gays (7/10/2021) - In a conservative society, social media is helping to make life bearable for the queer community.
disowned alone rejection Disowned for being gay: Fighting family rejection and winning (7/9/2021) - My parents disowned me for years over my sexuality.
friends community identity From isolation to acceptance: Environment and shaping queer identity (7/8/2021) - A rainbow flag is more than paraphernalia. It says: ‘You’re safe, you belong.’
man office work fired Stripped naked and publicly fired for being gay (7/7/2021) - A special meeting was called to humiliate and fire me.
cruel summer tv Cruel Summer and ‘90s-era queer representation (7/6/2021) - Cruel Summer’s inclusion of any queer representation at all sets it apart from television of the era it evokes. 
rupaul's drag race all stars stan television RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars 6: Who to beat, who to watch, who to worry about (7/1/2021) - After two episodes, RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars Season 6 has already seen chaos and drama.
san francisco marriage equality San Francisco and the long fight for US marriage equality (6/28/2021) - Scenes of wild jubilation in America's queer capital marked the eventual legalisation of marriage equality.
inspiration inspirational friends flowers laughing community women Inspirational messages to boost your mood this Pride Month (6/27/2021) - An ally shares some words of encouragement to brighten your day.
man makeup tears rainbow social media The queerphobic queer aesthetic of social media influencers (6/27/2021) - There is more to fashion and makeup than the watered-down version acceptable to cishets that is promoted by brands.
rocky horror film pansexual pansexuality Pansexuality: My journey of self-love (6/17/2021) - There's nothing wrong with me. I’m going to keep loving whoever I want.
women lesbian sally Back to the desert: Sally and Michelle (6/17/2021) - What happens when two women run away to start a new life together?
willow buffy tv lesbian Willow Rosenberg is a lesbian – let’s not retcon that (6/13/2021) - Willow and Tara were among the first lesbian couples on television.
shirtless man pants rainbow sti alone My STI struggle after being thrown out of a government hospital (6/11/2021) - The doctor told me that gays like me should rot in hell.
People of Colours theatre melt Review: People of Colours goes way beyond the usual themes (5/31/2021) - People of Colours was a sell-out hit at this year's Melt Festival.